2018 Ryder Cup Teams Confirmed

Line-ups finalised for 2018 clash between Europe and United States

Ryder Cup 2018

The 2018 Ryder Cup teams have been confirmed after wildcard picks were handed to Americans Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson and European stalwarts Sergio Garcia, Ian Poulter and Henrik Stenson.

Both the United States captain Jim Furyk and opposing European captain Thomas Bjorn opted to add experience to their 12-man teams when announcing their picks for the showdown at Le Golf National in Paris between September 28-30.

In his comeback season, 14-time major winner Woods secured a return to Ryder Cup action for the first time since 2012. Mickelson, meanwhile, will set a new record when he appears in his 12th Ryder Cup. In-form Bryson DeChambeau also earned a wildcard, while the final spot will be confirmed at the weekend.

They join automatic qualifiers Brooks Koepka, Dustin Johnson, Justin Thomas, Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Bubba Watson and Webb Simpson, all majors winners, and Rickie Fowler to form a strong United States line-up.

With five of the eight automatic qualifiers for the European team being debutants, Bjorn also opted for experience by naming Sergio Garcia, Ian Poulter and Henrik Stenson as three of his four wildcard picks along with Paul Casey.

Garcia has played in eight previous Ryder Cups and is the most experienced member in the European team, while Poulter has lost just four of his 18 matches in five appearances and returns having missed the 2016 Ryder Cup when the United States won at Hazeltine.

They join automatic qualifiers Francesco Molinari, Justin Rose, Tyrrell Hatton and Tommy Fleetwood, who qualified via the European Tour points list, as well as Jon Rahm, Rory McIlroy, Alex Noren and Thorbjorn Olesen, who earned their spots via the Ryder Cup world points list.


European 2018 Ryder Cup Team



Thomas Bjorn

Automatic Qualifiers

Francesco Molinari

Justin Rose

Tyrrell Hatton

Tommy Fleetwood

Jon Rahm

Rory McIlroy

Alex Noren

Thorbjorn Olesen


Paul Casey

Sergio Garcia

Ian Poulter

Henrik Stenson


United States Ryder Cup Team



Jim Furyk

Automatic Qualifiers

Brooks Koepka

Dustin Johnson

Justin Thomas

Patrick Reed

Bubba Watson

Jordan Spieth

Rickie Fowler

Webb Simpson


Bryson DeChambeau

Phil Mickelson

Tiger Woods