Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship Preview

Guide to the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship

Abu Dhabi Golf Club

The first significant event of the year is the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship at Abu Dhabi Golf Club from January 16-19.

Part of the Desert Swing on the European Tour, the Abu Dhabi event sees some of the leading names from the PGA Tour make the trip to the Middle East to form part of a stellar line-up as they clash with the best from Europe.

Shane Lowry is the defending champion having won in Abu Dhabi last year by a shot from Richard Sterne. The Irishman would later go on to win the Open Championship in 2019.

Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship History

The Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship was first held in 2006 and has become one of the leading events on the European Tour.

Sponsored by HSBC since 2011, the $7 million event attracts a high class field looking for early season form and has been won by some of the world’s leading golfers.

Triple winner Martin Kaymer and two-time champions Paul Casey and Tommy Fleetwood are joined on the roll of honour by the likes of Rickie Fowler. Rory McIlroy, meanwhile, is a four-time runner-up.

Kaymer holds the four-round tournament record having posted a score of 24-under par in 2011 when defeating McIlroy by eight shots.

Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship Course

Abu Dhabi Golf Club, which hosts the event, was only opened in 1998 but is a spectacular setting. The course measures 7,600 yards and poses a par-72 challenge. Water comes into play on nine of the 18 holes.


World number one Brooks Koepka will play in the event this year as he looks to rediscover his best form on his return from an injury lay-off.

He is joined in the line-up by PGA Tour stars and fellow Americans Patrick Cantlay and Bryson DeChambeau.

Defending champion Lowry will look to go back-to-back in the Abu Dhabi Championship.

Former winners Fleetwood (2017 and 2018), Kaymer (2008, 2010 and 2011) and 2014 champion Pablo Larrazabal will also be seeking another title.

Louis Oosthuizen, Matt Fitzpatrick, Sergio Garcia, Thomas Pieters, Branden Grace, Viktor Hovland and Danny Willett will also be looking to make a winning start to 2020.

%d bloggers like this: