Charles Schwab Challenge Preview

Preview of the PGA Tour event from Colonial Country Club

Charles Schwab Challenge

The Charles Schwab Challenge is the first event of the rescheduled PGA Tour season with the tournament taking place at Colonial Country Club from June 11-14.

After a three-month halt in the season due to the coronavirus pandemic, PGA Tour action return in Texas with the Charles Schwab featuring a high-class line-up.

World number one Rory McIlroy, Brooks Koepka, Jon Rahm, Dustin Johnson and Justin Thomas will be among those teeing it up in the first event of the rejigged calendar.

Kevin Na is the reigning champion having won the 2019 Charles Schwab by four shots from Tony Finau last year.

Charles Schwab Challenge History

Known traditionally as the Colonial National Invitational, the event has a rich history have first been held in 1946 as one of five invitational events.

It has had various names since including the Southwestern Bell Invitational, MasterCard Invitational, Bank of America Invitational, Crowne Plaza Invitational and Dean & Deluca Invitational.

The tournament has a long association with Ben Hogan, who called Fort Worth, Texas, home and the Charles Schwab Challenge is the longest-standing PGA Tour event held at same venue.

Charles Schwab Challenge Course

The Charles Schwab tournament is played at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Colonial offers a par-70 test with the course measuring 7209 yards when the PGA Tour rolls into town.

Charles Schwab Challenge Contenders

After three months without competitive golf, the Charles Schwab has attracted a top-class field including the world’s top five players McIlroy, Rahm, Koepka, Thomas and Johnson.

Patrick Reed, Webb Simpson, Bryson DeChambeau and Xander Schauffele are others towards the head of the markets as they look to make a winning return to action.

There is no Tiger Woods at Colonial, while top-10 ranked Adam Scott – a former winner, Patrick Cantlay and Tommy Fleetwood are other absentees.

Former winners in the field include Na (2019), Justin Rose (2018), Kevin Kisner (2017), Jordan Spieth (2016) and Zach Johnson (2010 and 2012).