Padraig Harrington to captain Europe at 2020 Ryder Cup

European Team name captain for the 2020 Ryder Cup

Ryder Cup

Padraig Harrington has been named as the captain on the European team for the 2020 Ryder Cup.

The three-time major winner will succeed Thomas Bjorn, who led Europe to
a 17.5-10.5 victory over the United States at Le Golf National in Paris in the 2018 Ryder Cup as they successfully regained the trophy.

Harrington has been a vice-captain in the last three Ryder Cups, a win under Paul McGinley in 2014 at Gleneagles, a defeat for Darren Clarke’s team at Hazeltine in 2016 and most recently as part of Bjorn’s backroom team.

The Irishman, who also featured on the winning side in four of the six Ryder Cups he featured in as a player, beat off competition from Luke Donald and Lee Westwood to be named captain for the 2020 Ryder Cup at Whistling Straits.

“I’ve won three majors in my career but taking the Ryder Cup captaincy is a different level,” Harrington said. “I want to find an edge to get the players to perform to best of their abilities and hopefully get a win.

“I’m really conscious that I have to find the edge and add to it. It’s going to take a great deal of my time over the next two years to do it.

“It seems to be a natural progression and it feels like the right time in my career. But just because it seems like the right time I didn’t think I should just come in and do it. I thought long and hard about it.”

2020 Ryder Cup is “Good Timing”

Harrington added: “It’s possibly easier to be Ryder Cup captain at home, but I realise it was good timing in my career and probably the best chance for the team in an international setting, going to the US having me as captain at this time.

“I have the support of the players, then it really came down to whether I wanted to be in the hat. I’m putting it on the line – we know when you’re a successful Ryder Cup captain it’s great and a losing captain – it’s his fault.”

Harrington won back-to-back Open Championships in 2007 and 2008 as well as the USPGA Championship in 2008 during the best years of his playing career.

READ: More Tour News