Skip to content
Home » Hideki Matsuyama Signs For Boston Common Golf In TGL

Hideki Matsuyama Signs For Boston Common Golf In TGL

Hideki Matsuyama TGL

Hideki Matsuyama has committed to playing the new TGL when it starts in January 2025 after signing for Boston Common Golf.

Matsuyama will play in the unique golf league from January 2025 when the Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy-backed league is belatedly launched.

The 2021 Masters champion Matsuyama has signed on to play when it does get underway, joining McIlroy’s Boston Common Golf team.

The Japanese star replaces Tyrrell Hatton, who initially signed up before defecting to LIV Golf, and will be a team-mate to McIlroy, Keegan Bradley and Adam Scott.

Boston Common Golf is owned by Fenway Sports Group, which owns the Boston Red Sox, Pittsburgh Penguins and Liverpool FC among other sports clubs and franchises.

Hideki Matsuyama TGL Reaction

“I’m excited to join Boston Common Golf and be a part of TGL,” Matsuyama said in a statement. “Teaming up with Rory, Keegan, and Adam – three incredible players I deeply respect – fills me with excitement and anticipation.

“Together, I hope we can push the boundaries of golf and create an unforgettable new experience for fans around the world. Most importantly, I am looking forward to the four of us winning championships together.”

Boston Common Golf president and CEO Mark Lev added: “On behalf of Boston Common Golf and everyone at Fenway Sports Group, I want to express our deep appreciation to Hideki for joining this groundbreaking venture that will showcase team golf like never before.

“Hideki’s calm demeanor and resilience will perfectly complement Rory’s dynamic skills, Adam’s experience, and Keegan’s tenacity, making us a formidable force.

“His historic Masters victory, technical precision, and unwavering work ethic have solidified his place among golf’s elite, and with him, we become a team of players representing four continents, each a Major champion.

“His commitment to promoting golf globally and in Japan through youth clinics is inspiring a new generation and we are fortunate to have him on our team.”

Hideki Matsuyama Career & Wins

Matsuyama is a nine-time PGA Tour wins, the first of which came in the 2014 Memorial Tournament.

He went on to win the 2016 and 2017 Waste Management Phoenix Open, 2016 WGC-HSBC Champions, 2017 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational, 2021 Masters, 2021 ZOZO Championship and 2022 Sony Open.

After a two year wait, Matsuyama claimed his ninth PGA Tour victory when winning the 2024 Genesis Invitational.

Matsuyama also won the Hero World Challenge in 2016 and Japan Tour events the 2011 and 2016 Mitsui Sumitomo Visa Taiheiyo Masters, 2013 Tsuruya Open, 2013 Diamond Cup Golf, 2013 Fujisankei Classic, 2013 Casio World Open, 2014 Dunlop Phoenix Tournament and 2016 Japan Open Golf Championship.

He has competed in the Presidents Cup five times and and represented Japan in the Olympics.

READ: What’s in Hideki Matsuyama’s Bag?

About The TGL

TGL is a new professional golf league, played by top PGA Tour players during a two-hour weekly competition in prime time.

Six teams from six different cities will go head-to-head in a season-long competition at SoFi Center, which is located on the campus of Palm Beach State College.

TGL incorporates innovative tech with virtual and real-life elements, with matches airing live on ESPN and ESPN+.

It will begin on January 7, 2025, one year later than initially planned. A storm caused damage to the power system and the 250,000-square-foot steel-supported temporary venue, resulting in the delay in the launch of the series.

Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy, Justin Thomas, Collin Morikawa, Rickie Fowler, Xander Schauffele, Tommy Fleetwood and Hideki Matsuyama are among those to commit to the TGL.