Rory McIlroy wins Player of the Year award

McIlroy wins the Jack Nicklaus award for the third time


Rory McIlroy has been named 2018-19 PGA Tour Player of the Year, winning the Jack Nicklaus award for the third time.

McIlroy won the Player of the Year title in 2012 and 2014, and the latest award caps a memorable year in won the Players Championship, the Canadian Open and the $15 million Tour Championship.

The award is voted for by fellow PGA Tour players and it was McIlroy who earned the Jack Nicklaus Award ahead of fellow finalists Brooks Koepka, Matt Kuchar and Xander Schauffele.

McIlroy was presented with the trophy while enjoying dinner with Nicklaus, and proclaimed to have goosebumps in the video shown on social media.

“I am very proud of my consistency and success this season so it is an incredible honor to have my fellow PGA Tour players recognise me as the Player of the Year,” Rory McIlroy wrote on social media along with a picture of himself lifting the Jack Nicklaus Award. “Already looking forward to next season!”

In total, McIlroy made 19 PGA Tour appearances this season and finished in the top 10 on 14 occasions. He also missed just two PGA Tour cuts, and his stats backed up just how consistent a season he had.

He was first for shots gained off the tee, tee to green and overall and finished with the highest total this decade.

READ: More PGA Tour News